The Great Gatsby (2013)

User Rating

User Reviews

Rate it!
Critic Rating

Critic Reviews

About the Graph & Metric

Reviews

User Reviews

  • May 10, 2013 08:05 pm

    Ken said: C

    You can’t repeat the past. But you can reimagine it. Baz Luhrmann’s highly anticipated film, The Great Gatsby, achieves what Fitzgerald and Coppola probably wished they could, while simultaneously falling short of both. The story is frame

  • May 10, 2013 09:26 pm

    james said: B

    Having just re-read the book before going today, I was surprised at how true to the story, the film turned out to be. Leo was strong as Gatsby. His edgy/crazy acting worked really well in the later scenes. Joel Edgerton as Tom, Jason Clarke as George and Amitabh Bachchan as Wolfsheim were especially good. I had a little trouble with Tobey Maguire's, Nick and Carey Mulligan's, Daisy. With Tobey, at times, I saw his wide eyed Spiderman character come thru too much, but he was fine. With Carey, I find her a little soft in most everything. Drive is one film in which her character was so soft, I never bought her being in that situation. In this, she wasn't as soft as I imagined the character to be. But, all in all, I went into the story with them and enjoyed the experience. And, I recommend seeing it in 3-D, because it adds to story's feel "new".

  • May 11, 2013 01:52 pm

    Joe said: D

    There are no surprises in Gatsby, it fulfills the tradition of Baz Luhrmann Excess. With a story this strong, one thinks Baz might be tempted to tell it. Plenty of talent in this film, but they are smothered. It's tiring, not exhilarating.

  • May 15, 2013 06:54 pm

    jack said: A

    a classy movie, shades of yesteryear. the actors were all fine, the story did justice. I really enjoyed the movie

  • May 25, 2013 01:37 am

    jeffrey said: A

    a well made movie on every level. I enjoyed the manic first part of the movie. to me it took lots of talent to put that section together.

  • May 25, 2013 03:37 am

    Dennis said: A

    Don't pay any attention to the critics that dislike this film. Outstanding in all respects. Storytelling at it's best. Intense character development,presents the complifications of life, love not fulfilled. Just let the film take you along.

  • Jun 08, 2013 05:57 am

    Jordan said: D

    This movie was quite different than the old one. It wasn't much more entertaining however. It was pretty boring from the start. Just read the book; the movie was actually pretty disappointing.

  • Jun 09, 2013 08:20 am

    Sean said: A

    Baz Luhrmann’s The Great Gatsby from a script written by himself and Craig Pierce arrives in cinemas today. Like all Luhrmann films it will be loved and hated in equal measure. Its pure cinema no-one can capture the brilliance of Fitzgerald

  • Jun 25, 2013 08:08 pm

    Bella said: B

    The Great Gatsby has a great story. Baz Luhrmann's take on films are normally a little artsy (Moulin Rouge, Romeo + Juliet). However, this one was entertaining. Leonardo DiCaprio did a good job as well.

  • Jul 22, 2013 12:23 pm

    Farid said: C

    With all the partying, It was surprisingly boring as I did not feel emotional about any of the characters.

  • Aug 25, 2013 02:30 am

    Robyn said: C

    The movie's overblown style (CG, 3D, and Jay-Z), chokes the very life out of any substance the story may hold.

  • Sep 10, 2013 03:54 pm

    Andy said: B

    B+/A-

  • Oct 07, 2013 02:05 pm

    Erin said: B

    Most book-based movies always change the plot in films or do something differently than the book for a number of reasons. Perhaps they get rid of minor parts, or they just couldn't incorporate it into the movie. If you want to watch one of

  • Oct 25, 2013 09:56 pm

    Betty said: C

    C+ : Liked the first two movie much better. Was disappointed in the casting, even Dicaprio wasn't that good. Felt no emotion for any of the characters...just could not connect!

  • Apr 29, 2014 04:33 am

    Alainna said: C

    I think the biggest problem for me about this adaptation is that it had so much potential. I was sold on Baz Lurhman as director, even though he is no my favorite. I was sold on the 3D, it couldn’t be that useless, Scorsese did 3D right wit

  • Apr 29, 2014 04:34 am

    Alainna said: C

    h Hugo. But the movie overall was just there. Yes, Leonardo DiCaprio did an excellent job portraying the seemingly simple role of Gatsby that Robert Redford failed in many years ago. The biggest issue for me however was the framing device;

Rate This Movie!

Please sign in or sign up to rate this movie.