The Fighter (2010)

The Fighter (2010) Movie Reviews
User Rating

User Reviews

Rate it!
Critic Rating

Critic Reviews

About the Graph & Metric

Reviews

User Reviews

  • Dec 19, 2010 05:29 pm

    David said: B

    Fabulous acting and gritty realism.

  • Dec 20, 2010 04:51 pm

    Peter said: A

    my fave movie of the year. excellent story and character driven movie with great performances. Christian Bale is a superstar and is going to get an Oscar. no if ands or buts. two thumbs up and more...

  • Dec 20, 2010 10:27 pm

    Lindy said: B

    Is it good? Yes. But have patience with this film, it starts out slow, building, collecting characters and emotions throughout each scene. And it is NOT a Hollywood Rocky type of story. If you want that out of this movie, hang up your glo

  • Jan 11, 2011 04:50 pm

    Anthony said: A

    Christian Bale is amazing and should receive an oscar nod.

  • Jan 11, 2011 09:15 pm

    Bob said: B

    Very nice.

  • Jan 17, 2011 05:31 pm

    Bernard said: B

    definitely a great movie. Christian bale acted all over the place. My only complaint were the fighting scenes. The didn't feel organic--just looked like Wahlberg standing there punching a bag.

  • Jan 18, 2011 10:05 pm

    Annie said: B

    Wahlberg and Bale play off each other extremely well. So happy Bale won the Golden Globe for Best Supporting!

  • Feb 08, 2011 04:31 am

    David said: B

    Less interesting as a boxing movie and more so as a dysfunctional family drama. Not many surprises but utterly believable performances with vivid characterizations. Christian Bale doesn't just give a performance,it's a magic trick.

  • Feb 08, 2011 04:37 am

    Matthew said: B

    My trainer and friend Alberto said to me that "Micky Ward had only one useful thing as a fighter. a good chin, and that is the worst thing to have". The movie while great in certain ways, never let us see that Micky was just a brawler, while his brother was a real boxer. Perhaps the mind that is required to be truly great in the ring, can lead to frustration and even substance abuse. It is deep stuff. Good movie, but could have gone further. I would have liked to see Aronofsky direct it, as he had originally planned.

  • Mar 19, 2011 04:10 am

    Georgia said: A

    Loved it! Fabulous performances by Christian Bale and Mark Wahlburg. Very admirable that Mark Wahlburg spent much time ,even years preparing for this. No one could have played the part better and one of Christian Bales best performances

  • Mar 22, 2011 03:55 pm

    Christopher said: A

    Great movie. It's really more about a relationship between brothers than it is about boxing. Christian Bale gives an outstanding performance. You will enjoy this film if you don't go into it thinking it's another Rocky.

  • Apr 01, 2011 03:06 pm

    Annie said: A

    Incredible flick!

  • Apr 07, 2011 03:53 am

    Richard Joe said: A

    A very surprising great pic, will view again in the near future. Christan Bale is a tremendous actor.

  • Jun 04, 2011 12:35 am

    Amanda said: B

    A great documentary feel with some of the best performances of the year. The end is overly sentimental, which undermines the strength of the rest of the film.

  • Aug 29, 2011 03:17 pm

    Matt said: B

    Melissa Leo shines but Christian Bale is over-performing in a lot of scenes to the point where I couldn't help but laugh. Regardless, still a terrific film.

  • Aug 29, 2011 05:31 pm

    Debbie said: B

    I'm afraid I disagree with Matt. I would give this movie a B, but Christian Bale's over-acting is what made him a star in the first place…besides, it's better than under acting =p

Rate This Movie!

Please sign in or sign up to rate this movie.