Super 8 (2011)

User Rating

User Reviews

Rate it!
Critic Rating

Critic Reviews

About the Graph & Metric

Reviews

User Reviews

  • Jun 10, 2011 02:12 pm

    Amanda said: B

    A nice film that at its heart is about loving film. The genre bits are well done, but nothing out of the ordinary. The true strength is in the kids performances and the love of making movies.

  • Jun 11, 2011 03:31 pm

    Brad said: C

    The teen relationships are the main story here. The sci-fi part provides the basis for the "mystery", but somehow doesn't fit or add interest -- just filler. Very uneven movie. Overall, seems like clips from other movies I've already seen.

  • Jun 11, 2011 11:58 pm

    colin said: A

    what's the story for this movie, exciting.

  • Jun 12, 2011 07:11 am

    Michayla said: A

    This movie was great! Action, Romance, Comedy... it had a great story line and i liked how it took place in the 70's!

  • Jun 12, 2011 09:35 pm

    Jim said: C

    I was a bit disappointed. The movie seemed very "after school special" and had a "been done" feel to it. Plot was OK, acting was good but it jumped around too much to flow and hold my interest.

  • Jun 12, 2011 11:35 pm

    Steve said: B

    A great movie to watch, but not a great movie. The first half starts and stops, starts and stops. The second half moves along pretty good. In short, "E.T." it ain't."

  • Jun 13, 2011 04:08 am

    Janice said: A

    As baby boomers, my husband and I loved the music and the props that took us back to the 70s. We thoroughly enjoyed the story, the child actors, and the dialogue. Make sure you stay and watch the credits!

  • Jun 13, 2011 09:34 am

    Abcclas said: A

    I wanna wacth that movie when its come to Spain. I Will be waiting.

  • Jun 14, 2011 10:50 am

    Heather said: A

    Great summer movie to go and see!!!!

  • Jun 15, 2011 08:35 pm

    Rich said: B

    a good movie to take your teenage kid too

  • Jun 16, 2011 04:55 pm

    Carol said: B

    Enjoyed the kids especially Joe, the lead character

  • Jun 17, 2011 07:28 pm

    Daniel said: D

    A great film is you are, or have the mentality of,someone 5-12 years of age. It is a film best suited for children. Because parts of the film are so juvenile and "hokey", adults might bring along a barf bag just in case you need it.

  • Jun 20, 2011 06:14 am

    Michael said: D

    This movie was targeted towards teenagers. If you are a teenager, if your are fairly intelligent, you won't enjoy this goofy movie.

  • Jun 20, 2011 07:36 pm

    Ruth said: F

    Very boring movie didnt make sense want my money back.

  • Jun 21, 2011 11:31 am

    peter said: B

    classic old school Spielberg. fun movie to see for everyone to get away from the daily grind. enjoyed watching it :) good to see Spielberg making this type of movie again.

  • Jun 21, 2011 03:06 pm

    Matt said: D

    The kids in the film were great, but the plot felt too contrived and cliche, trying too hard to be something it wasn't (E.T.? Goonies?). I get what he was trying to do, but as much as he'd like to be, J.J. Abrams is no Steven Spielberg.

  • Jun 27, 2011 01:31 am

    Cat said: A

    The heart of this film lies in the tremendous performances of Joel Courtney (always present) and Elle Fanning (a remarkable emotional range). J.J. Abrams knows how to get out of the way. A rare talent.

  • Jul 03, 2011 01:24 am

    Ralph said: D

    Boring. yeah-soundtrack & special effects were great, but too much character devpmnt, plot cobbled together in haste. Disappointed.

  • Jul 03, 2011 07:34 am

    Matt said: B

    Spielberg Jr. does a great job at doing what Spielberg can't do anymore.

  • Jul 03, 2011 07:34 am

    Matt said: B

    Spielberg Jr. does a great job at doing what Spielberg can't do anymore.

  • Jul 24, 2011 02:58 am

    jack said: B

    Aimed at 10 - 15 year olds. Good kids vs. corrupt military plot. The train wreck is gripping. One scene in the trailer, the pounding on the rail car, was not in the movie.

  • Nov 27, 2011 09:34 pm

    Muz said: A

    Really enjoyed the whole movie and seemed to me to be mature cinematography and an homage to Spielbergs style. Thought all of the young actors filled out their characters well. Only watched DVD but definitely worth a watch on big screen.

  • Jan 28, 2012 11:23 pm

    David said: A

    Interesting fantasy tale.

  • Jun 04, 2012 07:09 am

    Brooke said: A

    I think this is a great movie because its a mix of thirler,ski-fi and fantasy.It dosent give away whats going on.Thats what makes you want to watch it more.I love the end how the kids put that short film together.(:

  • Feb 22, 2013 04:15 pm

    Betty said: B

    Surprisingly good.

  • Mar 19, 2013 01:06 am

    jack said: B

    When only the kids are on the screen, this is a terrific movie. Their interactions feel genuine, even during the exciting action scenes. The adults are serviceable, but their presence brings the score down a notch.

Rate This Movie!

Please sign in or sign up to rate this movie.