Rise of the Planet of the Apes (2011)

Rise of the Planet of the Apes (2011) Movie Reviews
User Rating

User Reviews

Rate it!
Critic Rating

Critic Reviews

About the Graph & Metric

Reviews

User Reviews

  • Aug 06, 2011 01:41 am

    Jeffrey said: A

    Excellent movie! My wife and I loved it.

  • Aug 06, 2011 03:11 pm

    cheek said: A

    My wife and I saw the movie (which was packed) last night and we both loved it. In my opinion, it is the best movie this year, and that's saying something because I really like Transformers 3.

  • Aug 06, 2011 10:31 pm

    Jim said: C

    I'm going against the mainstream, I give it a C or a very low B. It was way too predictable and devoid of humor or originality to be exciting. The ape graphics were very good, but the antics were too exaggerated to be believable.

  • Aug 07, 2011 04:47 pm

    Tina said: A

    This was the best movie i have seen in years

  • Aug 08, 2011 08:05 pm

    Joe said: C

    What a bummer that the strong story and effective telling in the first 1/3 -- in which we're told that apes are superior to humans -- turns into a CGI-fest with WOWEE destruction and aggression from the apes. A for the first 1/3, D after.

  • Aug 11, 2011 03:14 pm

    Chuck said: B

    A start fresh prequel to the iconic last scene of Charlton Heston's mind-shattering revelation in the original 'POTA'. The good: special effects, plausible story ,ape performances, Bad: ridiculous timelines,leaden Franco acting.

  • Sep 02, 2011 02:17 pm

    Matt said: B

    Basing this on story alone, "Rise" presents a much more plausible and less cheesy origin story than the original series. Franco wasn't too bad, either. Fans of the originals will enjoy the many references.

  • Sep 02, 2011 04:13 pm

    Debbie said: B

    Sorry Matt, the original wasnt cheesy. Why can't nuclear bombs would cause the end of humanity in a movie made during the Cold War? Rise stayed true to the spirit of POTA 4 and included many key elements to the original origin story. Go see

  • Sep 02, 2011 05:03 pm

    Matt said: B

    @Debbie: The cheesiness I was referring to was the original "rise" being born out of man turning to chimps as pets after a disease wipes out all cats and dogs.

  • Sep 17, 2011 04:11 am

    jack said: B

    This movie will work for you depending on how convincing you think the chimps are. If you sufficiently suspend your disbelief enough,you can find it moderately enjoyable. It's too noisy, and too predictable, but I would recommend it.

  • Sep 24, 2011 01:35 am

    Kevin said: F

    This might not be like the other views but I thought it wasn't good at all. The idea wasn't like I expected and everything changed so quickly. Not my recommendation!

  • Dec 24, 2011 03:36 pm

    Rahan said: D

    nothing can make me think any more of this movie...nothing is worthy to think about after the titles are gone...the acting,the story,special effects,direction,...really,nothing!

  • Dec 27, 2011 12:28 am

    ray said: B

    special effects super; good story line...........

  • Jan 05, 2012 02:20 pm

    Joselito said: B

    not as good as the one with mark walhberg but close enough to match it.

Rate This Movie!

Please sign in or sign up to rate this movie.